A bittersweet, comic tale about an amateur theatre group in 1964 Dublin, and their director, a man with a secret.
Based on the movie of the same name, the musical features a book by Terrence McNally, score by Ahrens and Flaherty, and was originally directed by Joe Mantello and choreographed by Jonathan Butterell. It premiered at Lincoln Center’s Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater in 2002 as part of their 2002-2003 season.

A one-night concert benefit was performed by the Transport Group on December 5th, 2016.

The show was revived off-Broadway at Classic Stage Company on October 11, 2022, starring Jim Parsons, Mare Winningham, A.J. Shively and Mary Beth Peil. Click here for more information on the show’s New York revival, directed by John Doyle.

WINNER of the 2003 Outer Critics Circle Award for BEST MUSICAL

NOMINATED for 7 Drama Desk Awards, including BEST MUSICAL, BEST MUSIC and BEST LYRICS.

World Premiere October 10, 2002 at Lincoln Center Theatre

“A major musical in everything but pretension. A work of subtle power.”


“A wonderful, heartfelt and emotionally nourishing new musical.”

-Associated Press

Production Gallery

Photos by Paul Kolnik

Show Clips + Video

Purchase + Perform

Show Credits

Mitzi E. Newhouse Theatre at Lincoln Center Theatre
Produced by Lincoln Center Theatre
(André Bishop, Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten, Executive Director)
Musical Theatre Associate Producer: Ira Weitzman

Book by Terrence McNally
Music by Stephen Flaherty
Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
Based on the film “A Man Of No Importance” by Barry Devlin
Music orchestrated by William David Brohn and Christopher Jahnke
Vocal Arrangements by Stephen Flaherty
Musical Director: Ted Sperling
Directed by Joe Mantello
Choreography by Jonathan Butterell
Scenic Design by Loy Arcenas
Costume Design by Jane Greenwood
Lighting Design by Donald Holder
Sound Design by Scott Lehrer
Conductor/Keyboard: Rob Berman
Assistant Conductor, Keyboard, Accordion: Shawn Gough
Bass: David Phillips
Violin: Antoine Silverman
Cello: Peter Sachon
Flutes, pennywhistles: Brian Miller
Guitars: Kevin Kuhn
Music Coordinator: John Miller
Music copying: Emily Grishman
General Manager: Adam Siegel
Press Representative: Phillip Rinaldi Publicity
Production Stage Manager: Michael Brunner
Company Manager: Matthew Markoff
Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin
Casting: Tara Rubin
Dialects: Steven Gabis
Photos: Paul Kolnik

Ronn Carroll    Baldy O’Shea
Jarlath Conroy  Father Kenny
Luther Creek   Peter/Breton Beret
Charles Keating  Carney/Oscar Wilde
Barbara Marineau   Miss Crowe
Michael McCormick  Rasher Flynn/Carson
Sean McCourt  Sully O’Hara
Katherine McGrath  Mrs. Grace/Kitty Farrelly
Jessica Molaskey  Mrs. Patrick
Martin Moran  Ernie Lally
Sally Murphy   Adele Rice
Steven Pasquale  Robbie Fay
Patti Perkins   Mrs. Curtin
Faith Prince   Lily Byrne
Roger Rees   Alfie Byrne

Understudies: Michele Federer (Adele Rice), James Hindman (Alfie Byrne), Barbara Tirrell (Lily Byrne and others), Wayne Wilcox (Robbie Faye and others)