JOINT BIO: LONG (649 words)

Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty are considered the foremost theatrical songwriting team of their generation. They won Broadway's triple crown--Tony Award, Drama Desk Award and Outer Critics Circle Award—as well as two Grammy nominations for their score of the Broadway musical *Ragtime*. They received two Academy Award nominations and two Golden Globe nominations for the songs and score of Twentieth Century Fox's animated feature film, *Anastasia*, which they also adapted into Broadway's hit musical, *Anastasia*. In 2014 they received the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement, and in 2015 they were inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame.

They wrote the musical *Once On This Island* (eight Tony Award nominations, London's Olivier Award, Best Musical) which premiered on Broadway in 1990. Its Broadway revival in 2018 won the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical and its cast recording was nominated for the 2019 Grammy Award. Their show *Seussical*, based on the works of Dr. Seuss, received Grammy and Drama Desk nominations and is one of the most frequently performed shows in America. They have premiered four new musicals at Lincoln Center Theatre: *My Favorite Year, A Man Of No Importance* (Winner, 2003 Outer Critics Circle Award, Best Musical); *Dessa Rose* (Audelco Award, Best Musical, Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle nominations); and *The Glorious Ones* (five Drama Desk nominations including Best Musical.) Additional theater credits include *Lucky Stiff* (Helen Hayes Award, Best Musical); *Chita Rivera: The Dancer's Life; Ragtime* 2009 Broadway revival (six Tony nominations, seven Drama Desk nominations); Broadway's *Rocky*, which was nominated as Best Musical by the Drama Desk, Drama League and Outer Critics Circle; and *Knoxville*, adapted and directed by Frank Galati, with a score by Ahrens and Flaherty. Upcoming is *Little Dancer*, an original musical with book and lyrics by Ahrens and music by Flaherty, directed and choreographed by Susan Stroman

Individually, Ms. Ahrens wrote lyrics and co-book for *A Christmas Carol*, which ran for ten years at Madison Square Garden (music by Akan Menken.) She also wrote its teleplay adaptation for NBC's Hallmark Entertainment Special. For her work in television, she has received the Emmy Award and four Emmy nominations. She is a mainstay writer and singer for the renowned animated series *Schoolhouse Rock* and has contributed lyrics to the feature films *Camp, Nasrin* and *After the Storm*. Her short stories and essays have been published nationally, and she was nominated for the Best American Essays and Pushcart Anthologies. She is the recipient of the Betty Comden Lilly Award for Lyrics

Mr. Flaherty has also written for the concert stage, with pieces premiering at the Hollywood Bowl and Carnegie Hall. He has received commissions from the Guggenheim Museum and the Boston Pops orchestra, among others. He composed the score to the dance play *In Your Arms*, directed and choreographed by Christopher Gattelli at the Old Globe, which featured the writing of ten noted playwrights. Other theatrical projects include writing the incidental music for Neil Simon's *Proposals* (Broadway) and the score for *Loving Repeating: A Musical Of Gertrude Stein* (About Face/Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; Jefferson Award for Best

New Musical.) Film scores include *Bartok the Magnificent* (Twentieth Century Fox) and *After the Storm*.

Ahrens and Flaherty's shows have been recorded by BMG/RCA Victor, Sony, Atlantic, Universal, Decca Broadway, Broadway Records, Varese Sarabande, and JAY Records, and their songs have been performed and recorded by a diverse array of artists. A print anthology of their music, "The Ahrens and Flaherty Songbook," is published by Alfred Music, and a live double CD of their work titled "Nice Fighting You" is available on Broadway Records.

They serve on the governing body of the Dramatists Guild of America and are members of ASCAP, NARAS, SCL and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. They are Education Ambassadors for the New York Pops and co-founded the DGF Fellows Program for Emerging Writers. www.AhrensAndFlaherty.com